Merely because you have a better understanding of the corn ingredients list, it doesn’t mean you should rush into including it in your diet. This is especially the case when you want to follow a gluten-free diet. Actually, this meal plan calls for caution if you’re to enjoy the numerous benefits it offers.
The good thing is that corn in its natural form is gluten-free. But you should always be on the lookout for gluten in corn that comes in a sauce or with any other ingredients. After all, they could contain the protein.
Regardless of the corn you decide to buy, it is essential that you double check the ingredients label to ensure the product is truly gluten-free. Only then can you tell if it is worth including in your meal plan.
Just as a quick reminder, there are many variations of corn that can be eaten on a gluten-free diet. Together with plain coin, individuals with celiac disease mostly ask if cornstarch, corn flour, hominy and cornmeal are gluten-free. The good news is we are here to help you answer this question.
For a start, cornstarch is gluten-free in its natural form. It is made by grinding up the starchy portion of a corn grain and turning it into a very fine powder. Cornstarch is mostly used as a thickener for sauces, soups, gravy, and stews. Not to mention it is also used in pre-made gluten-free flour blends since it creates a smoother texture.
As for corn flour, it is gluten-free in its natural form. For those who know corn flour, then you can attest to the sheer fact that it has a light, finer texture when used in baked goods. If possible, consider buying corn flour that is labeled gluten-free since it is possible for cross-contact to take place during the manufacturing process.
In the event that you’ve been glutened after eating corn or corn products, then it is essential that you first check the products that you are eating. Be sure to check in with you’re a doctor, especially if your symptoms fail to go away.