Do eggs have gluten? Well, plain eggs and eggs prepared by them are gluten-free. Things tend to be different with egg dishes such as quiche and egg benedict since they are not always gluten-free.
What this simply means is that people with celiac disease and non-celiac gluten sensitivity should always be cautiouswith eggs and egg-based diseases. After all, they are susceptible to gluten cross-contamination in cooking.
Some people who are following a gluten-free diet tend to react after eggs., Well, the problem might emanate from one of two places: gluten cross-contamination when the eggs are cooked, or from a sensitivity to the eggs themselves.
If you’re fond of preparing your eggs in a gluten-free kitchen with dedicated gluten-free utensils, then there is nothing to worry about. But things tend to be different in a shared kitchen considering you need to watch out for potential problems with shared cooking spaces, utensils, and pans to keep your eggs safe.
Many restaurants that serve breakfast cook their eggs on the same grill as French toast and pancakes. This shared cooking space has they potential to cross-contaminate your otherwise gluten-free meal. Moreover, some restaurants tend to mix a little pancake batter into their scrambled eggs and omelets to make them fluffier.
To stay safe while eating eggs at a restaurant, be sure to follow the rules for eating out safely gluten-free. Precisely, ask that your eggs be prepared in their own, clean pan using clear utensils. This should be far away as possible from where any pancake batter or toast is being prepared. Most restaurants are willing to oblige, or at the least will tell you that they can’t accommodate you.
So, what are the egg dishes to avoid when dining out on a gluten-free diet? Well, you should steer clear from baked eggs, breakfast egg sandwich, cheese souffle, eggs benedict and most quiche.
Make it the norm to question egg dishes with additional ingredients, since so many recipes for casseroles and souffles contain flour in addition to eggs. Only then can you follow a gluten-free diet without strain.